top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaoHanLin

Let's Go Buffalo

Updated: Feb 12, 2018

My girlfriend asked me why they want to build a outdoor stadium and play football in winter. It's f**king cold. We wore a parka and two jackets inside, my girlfriend still thought she might cold to die. Our seats were a frozen iron bench, but we saw some crazy Bills' naked fans sat on bench and yell in the courts. We were not in the same world.




Toronto and Buffalo are close. It cost me 2 hours driving from Toronto through Niagara Falls and borders to this city. Niagara Falls in Canada side is very busy and crowded, but Buffalo is silence and dark in opposite side.


We heard about Buffalo's steaks and chicken wings for a long time. We drove to a steakhouse when we arrived the city immediately. The foods and peanuts are unbelievable amazing. we waited a table for 1.5 hours, but I think it deserved. BTW, we went to a Texas style steakhouse, so we've still never tried Buffalo style steaks.


My NFL debut

For me, it's my first time watching NFL game in the courts. I love to join 50,000 fans shout out loud to Miami Dolphins. For us, it's a unique experience. I can't remember anywhere is colder and noisier than New Era Field. That's totally unforgettable.

Bills had continued the longest no playoffs seasons since 1999 in American professional sports league. I won't say we were lucky fans, but they had finally gotten the first playoffs appearance two weeks later after we watched this game.

Unfortunately, they lost to Jacksonville Jaguars in wild card game.


Silence but powerful

I apologize for saying that Buffalo is a silence and dark city, but I can really feel their passion in Bills. We saw Bills' banners everywhere in this city, malls, steakhouses, normal houses, even transit cars. I wore a Maple Leafs bobble hat, and Bills fans shout "Go Leafs Go" to me. I forgot Buffalo has a NHL team Buffalo Sabres, but I thought they might don't care about hockey. They do really love Bills.


New Era Field

I am now a Bills' fan. My girlfriend told me she will join me if Bills build a indoor stadium.

We might be only Asians in this stadium, but I found a lot of cars came from Ontario. Toronto has involved to almost all of the American sports league, like Raptors in NBA, Blue Jays in MLB, Maple Leafs in NHL, Toronto FC in MLS. The only one major league that Toronto hasn't involved is NFL. I think it's the reason I saw so many fans came from Ontario to support Buffalo Bills.



I have to say I really enjoy this journey in New Era Field. I love Bills' fans very much. They are very crazy and passion, but I like it. It's your hometown team, you need to yell to guest teams players, you sing the songs with 50,000 fans or you celebrate with others Bills' loved strangers. I think it's the true love to your hometown team.

Bills defeated Dolphins hardly, but they won the game.


3 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

コメント

コメントが読み込まれませんでした。
技術的な問題があったようです。お手数ですが、再度接続するか、ページを再読み込みしてださい。
bottom of page