top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaoHanLin

Glory Again?

Updated: May 9, 2018

There are only two teams in NBA had more champions trophies than Chicago Bulls. It might be the most greatest franchise in 90s in the world. When I arrived United Center, I asked guard where is the Michael Jordan's sculpture and the trophies. I'm telling the truth these trophies are incredible, but the glories in the past made the current much darker.


I saw many pictures about MJ's sculpture, it was in the square outside United Center. The temperature was -25℃ when we were in Chicago, I guessed that's why they moved the sculpture inside to avoid somebody died by taking pictures with it. Actually, I wasn't moving when I saw it. I thing the shocking that trophies gave me are much more than this sculpture. What made MJ became GOAT (Greatest Of All Times) in basketball is these honors and trophies not MJ's personal stats.


Michael Jordan was not my hero in my childhood. I was a fan of Hakeem Olajuwon. Actually, I always support the opposite teams hoping they can heat Bulls. MJ was a demon collapsing the champions dreams of others basketball legends in that period.

Champions Banners & Retired Numbers

When I went inside, and I saw these. The Champions Banners and retired numbers of Chicago Bulls in NBA and Chicago Blackhawks in NHL were filled in the roof. These two teams gave this city so many glories and honors. My sister studied laws in Northwestern University in 1997-98, and she said "everybody" crazy about Bulls and MJ even they were not sports fans.

I think it's the reason I can't find the current players' jersey in team store, but I can see MJ, Pippen, Rodman's Jerseys easily. The past was still shining, but the futures will be much darker.


I found United Center in Chicago and Madison Square Garden in New York looked similar. They are both classic old fashion American luxury style building. According the reports in Forbes, Bulls is the fourth worth team in NBA(NY is obviously #1).


I have to say they keep the arenas well. The walkway is not wide, but it looked still clean and cozy.


Young Bulls

Before this season began, Bulls traded their all star swingman Jimmy Butler to Minnesota, and buyout Dwyane Wade's contract. Rajon Rondo became FA signing with New Orleans. I've never heard about these young bulls, besides Brook Lopez, Zach Levine, Nikola Miotic, and Bobby Potis.

I watched Bulls vs Trail Blazers at January 1st 2018. This is a good game, young bulls played very hard. They fought to the last second. Nikola Miotic was impressed me, he can shoot, pass, drive ball, got rebound, and defense.


If you ask me what do you think about Chicago? My answer is toll. When I drove car from Ontario through Michigan, and Indiana. Drivers can use free highway. If you found there were tolls on the inter-state highway, and you knew you were in Illinois. I totally agreed "users need to pay", but I want to pay the toll by human not by the electric gates. I am tourist, and it really bothered me if I can't pay the toll by human. Because I must pay the toll online, and it can't accept foreign credit cards. It's a creepy system, so I called Illinois state "Tollstate".

1 view0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page