top of page
Search
  • Writer's picturePaoHanLin

Clutch City


Hakeem Olajuwon was my favorite player, I watched him defeat New York Knicks and Orlando Magic to help Houston Rockets grab two champions at 1994-1995.

Hakeem had never played in Toyota Center, but Rockets build a statue to honor him.


The Champions Banners of 1994 & 1995 hang on the roof of Toyota Center.

I visited more than 20 arena in my road trip, Toyota Center has the largest amounts of Chinese Fans. I believed most of them come here for James Harden, but I met two fans come here for Zhou.


Legendaries in Rockets Histories

This is the section I like the most in Toyota Center. Rockets organization collected their legendary players' jersey and presented to fans. I saw game used jerseies and shorts of Hakeem Olajuwon, Clyde Drexler, Steve Francis, Tracy McGrady, and Yao Ming. It's pretty cool.


I think Rockets do a very good job keeping their team histories well. There is a staff asking fans questions about this teams' glory histories when we step into Toyota Center. We saw this wall at the ground floor in Toyota Center, it's the starting lineups in 1995 champions season.


The photos of jersey retired players are also showed in this walkway.


They didn't get any champions in 2000's, but they have lots of legendary players included hall of famer Yao Ming, Tracy McGrady, and Steve Francis. There is one thing I noticed, they put Shane Battier and Luis Scola on the wall, but they didn't put Cuttino Mobley on it.


Rockets traded Chris Paul from Los Angeles Clippers last summer, and they signed P.J. Tucker from FA market. The chemistry of this new team is extremely awesome.

These moves made Rockets at first seed in regular season.

In my theory, the fans from bigger cities show lower supporting to their home team. Houston is the biggest city in the southern America, but fans really do show their enthusiasm to this team. They really love James "Beard" Harden.


Toyota Center is a really good place for fans to support Rockets. They keep everything well and have two super stars to attract fans watching their game. It's a good arena experience for me.

2 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comments


bottom of page